Distinctive Programmes        
Home > School Experience > Co-Curriculum > Student Leadership

Student Leadership

STUDENT LEADERSHIP AND SOCIAL ENTERPRISE

Student Leadership Committee

The Student Leadership Committee is led by Miss Ang Lip Eng Penny as Head of Department of Physical Education / CCA.  


OUR TEACHERS

Ms Ang Lip Eng Penny 
HOD – Physical Education | CCA
ang_lip_eng@moe.edu.sg 
Mr Shaifrizman Bin Maktar
SH – Student Management
shaifrizman_maktar@moe.edu.sg 
 Mr Goh Ming Ann John
goh_ming_ann_john@moe.edu.sg
Miss Lin Liyi
lin_liyi@moe.edu.sg 
 Ms Premaa Ravichandran premaa_ravichandran@moe.edu.sg  
Ms Stella Tan Wan Yee tan_wan_yee_stella@moe.edu.sg
Ms Junaidah Manap junaidah_manap@moe.edu.sg


VISION AND PHILOSOPHY

In GSS, we believe every student is a potential leader and we aim to develop all students to be Positive Youths of Today and Inspiring Leaders of tomorrow. We view leadership not as a rank or a position; rather, leadership is a set of essential skills that students need to be equipped with for an ever-changing world.


LEADERSHIP POSITIONS

The Student Leadership Programme in GSS is organised as a 2-tier training programme that includes a general Self-leadership development for the entire student cohort and a role- based Team Leadership and Thought Leadership development for the 4 different student leadership roles:

- Class Leaders
- CCA Leaders
- House Leaders
- Student Councillors


STUDENT LEADERSHIP FRAMEWORK

In GSS, we adopt The Leadership Challenge (TLC) Model, created by best-selling authors James Kouzes and Barry Posner to frame our training programmes.

The 5 practices of exemplary leadership under TLC are:
 •        Model the way
 •        Inspire a shared vision
 •        Challenge the process
 •        Enable others to act
 •        Encourage the heart   

Student Leaders will have the opportunity to internalise these 5 practices through various training workshops and school platforms.

These include:
    1. School Events - Awards Ceremony & Partners’ Day, Parents’ Briefings, Parent-Teacher Meetings, GSS Open House
    2. Co-curricular Events - Sports Carnival, Inter-House Games, NE Commemorative of Historical Events, Teachers’ Day celebrations, MTL Fortnight
    3. Values-In-Action Programme - Service Learning Programme by CCA, Class or Cohort

Trainings & workshops
Weekly Dialogue & Forum, Effective Communication Workshops, Student leadership Camp, Overseas Service Learning Internationalisation Programme.