Distinctive Programmes        
Home > School Experience > Curriculum > Mathematics/POA/EBS

Mathematics/POA/EBS

Math Department Staff Photo - 01



Math Department Staff Photo - 02

The Mathematic/POA/EBS Department has staff strength of 23 teachers. The department is led by Mrs Goh-Kok Mei Leng as Head of Department/Mathematics. The department is also supported by Mr Ugene Ong Eng Jye as Senior Teacher/ Mathematics and Ms See Rui Si as Subject Head/Mathematics (Internal).


OUR TEACHERS

Mrs Goh-Kok Mei Leng
HOD / Math
kok_mei_leng@moe.edu.sg
Ms See Rui Si
SH / Math & Information Management
see_rui_si@moe.edu.sg
Mr Ugene One Eng Jye
ST  /Math
ong_eng_jye_ugene@moe.edu.sg
Ms Erlinda Tanuwijaya erlinda_tanuwijaya@moe.edu.sg
Mr Goh Kee Lee goh_kee_lee@moe.edu.sg
Ms Grace Teo Chin Ling teo_chin_ling@moe.edu.sg
Mr Heriyadi Koh heriyadi_koh@moe.edu.sg
Ms Levon Lee Leng Hong leng_hong_levon_lee@moe.edu.sg
Mr Lim Ghim Siang lim_ghim_siang@moe.edu.sg
Mr Lim Jia Hui lim_jia_hui@moe.edu.sg
Ms Lin Li Yi lin_liyi@moe.edu.sg
Ms Low Xin Yu low_xin_yu@moe.edu.sg
Ms Lydia Bte Salim lydia_salim@moe.edu.sg
Ms Ong Jeok Mui ong_jeok_mui@moe.edu.sg
Ms Shuhadah Suleiman shuhadah_suleiman@moe.edu.sg,
Mr Teo Wen Jie teo_wen_jie@moe.edu.sg
Ms Thivya d/o Asokan thivya_asokan@moe.edu.sg
Ms Valerie On Yuan Xiang valerie_on_yuan_xiang@moe.edu.sg
Ms Yap Xiao Ting yap_xiao_ting@moe.edu.sg
Mr Yoong Kang Chien yoong_kang_chien@moe.edu.sg


PHILOSOPHY

Overarching Goal

The overarching goal of the mathematics curriculum is to ensure that all students will achieve a level of mastery of mathematics that will serve them well in life, and for those who have the interest and ability, to pursue mathematics at the highest possible level.

Aims of the Mathematics Curriculum

The Mathematics Curriculum aims to enable all students to :

  • acquire mathematical concepts and skills for continuous learning in mathematics and to support learning in other subjects;
  • develop thinking, reasoning, communication, application and metacognitive skills through a mathematical approach to problem solving;
  • connect ideas within mathematics and between mathematics and other subjects through applications of mathematics; and
  • build confidence and foster interest in mathematics.

DEPARTMENT PEDAGOGY

Teachers use a repertoire of pedagogies to engage students in learning new concepts and skills. Three pedagogical approaches form the spine that supports most of the mathematics instruction in the classroom. They are not mutually exclusive and could be used in different parts of a lesson or unit.

Activity Based Learning

Students engage in activities to explore and learn mathematical concepts and skills, individually or in groups

Teacher-Directed Inquiry

Teachers lead students to explore, investigate and find answers on their own. Students learn to focus on specific questions and ideas and are engaged in communicating, explaining and reflecting on their answers.

Direct Instruction

Teachers introduce, explain and demonstrate new concepts and skills.Teachers draw connections, pose questions, emphasise key concepts, and role-model thinking.


DISTINCTIVE DEPARTMENT PROGRAMMES

Sec 1 Math & NE Trail@ Army Museum

Programmes Objectives
Sec 1 Math & NE Trail @ Army Museum
  • to learn math by the experiential and fun way beyond the classroom
  • to experience an authentic setting to observe and learn Math
  • to relate mathematical concepts that they have learnt in school to solve real life situations
Sec 1 Mathematical Modelling
  • to connect mathematics learnt to the real world
  • to enhance understanding of key mathematical concepts and methods as well as develop mathematical competencies
  • to learn to deal with ambiguity, make connections, select and apply appropriate mathematical concepts and skills
Sec 2 Mathematical Modelling
  • to connect mathematics learnt to the real world
  • to enhance understanding of key mathematical concepts and methods as well as develop mathematical competencies
  • to learn to deal with ambiguity, make connections, select and apply appropriate mathematical concepts and skills
Sec 2 Express Algebra Clinic
  • to strengthen the pupils' foundation in Algebra
  • to provide pupils with timely support and address misconceptions
  • to better prepare pupils for A Math learning
Sec 3 Math and Financial Literacy Project Work
  • to develop C2015 competencies in students through Mathematics and knowledge of financial literacy
  • to cater to the different learning styles and preferences of students
  • to bring Mathematics beyond classroom
Cluster West 6 Sec 2 Ace Online Competition
  • to see Mathematics learning as fun and interesting
  • to motivate pupils in the learning of mathematics
  • to assess learning through games
Sec 1 & 3 Cluster West 6 Mathematics Mania
  • to expose students to activities connecting several Math concepts in daily life
  • to provide a platform for students from cluster schools to interact and learn new ideas and concepts
EBS Learning Journey @ Vivocity
  • to experience an authentic setting to observe and learn business skills
  • to learn about retail and hospitality application
  • to collect more information about business in the hospitality and retail sector for coursework preparation
Basic Use of
Excel for POA
  • to expose students to the use of Excel spreadsheet to prepare income statements and financial reports
Participation in Competitions
  • Australian Mathematics Competition for Sec 2 Express
  • All Singapore Sec Maths Competition for Normal course students

CW6 Mathematics Rumble Competition
CW6 Mathematics Rumble Competition


CW6 Maths Symposium Mania
CW6 Mathematics Symposium and Mania



HOMEWORK AND ASSESSMENT POLICY

HOMEWORK ASSESSMENT
Level No. of hours (weekdays) No. of hours (weekends)
Lower Sec 2 1
Upper Sec 2 1
Sec 4 & 5 (after CCA standown) 3 1
  • Class Tests
  • Cohort Tests - Two standardised tests for all classes (Each tests contains 2-3 topics covered in the term)
  • Time Trials